Greg Holden and the Music Industry

By: Liam McCarthy

As he prepares for a show at Nashville’s Cannery Ballroom with Vintage Trouble, Greg Holden is relaxing in his green room, telling me of his connection to Music City.

“I used to come down here and write with people I didn’t know very well, but now that I’ve clicked with some of them it’s much easier to visit [Nashville] and write some great songs.”

Despite the massive success behind his songwriting career, Holden makes sure to highlight the fact that his solo career is his main focus at this point.

“I try to make time for songwriting because it’s always a good thing to do, but I’m totally focused on my own music right now.

Growing up in England, Holden’s career took a different route than that of most British artists. Instead of gaining popularity in his home country and having his fame take him to the United States, Greg has based his career out of New York.

“I never experienced the full music scene in England because I had a full-time job and as soon as I wanted to pursue music professionally, I moved to New York. I played a few open mics and small showcases [in England], but all I really know is the US music scene.”

Being known for criticizing Spotify in the past, I asked about the streaming service, as it’s the most controversial aspect the music industry has seen in a while.

“Well as a kid, I would always buy my music at record stores. For me, it cheapens music by giving anyone the ability to double click and have any music you want.”

Elaborating on the primary problem behind Spotify, Holden says,

“I understand that streaming is a great thing for the listener, but artists who are trying to live off of sales won’t be able to survive in the industry, financially.”

While touring takes up most of Holden’s time, with Winter rapidly approaching, he’s hopefully going to lock-in and write some music.

“Some of the best songs I’ve written have been written when it’s cold outside. I’m not really sure why, but it always seems to work that way”, says Holden.

After Greg’s single Boys In The Street gained a ton of attention this year, he has been touring the country and working on brand new music. Speaking of his career up to this point, he says,

“I’ve evolved a lot. I used to try and jam shit down people’s throats, which isn’t a great way to get your message across. Now, I like to let people listen and have them take what they can get. The most important thing to do is to make music as universal as possible, while still keeping the storyline.”

Connect with Greg Holden on Twitter

Liam

After a near-death experience involving three grizzly bears & two Cambodian strippers, Liam made a life-changing decision to venture into the music world. Follow him on Twitter at @doyouknowLIAM for an endless supply of mediocre tweets.

Leave a Reply

