Meet The Newest Indie Sensation

Being a young person in any professional industry is tough. Shit, being young in general is tough. Being a 21 year-old recording artist signed to one of the biggest record labels in the world is even tougher.

“Getting signed to a major was definitely 0 to 60 transition. I went from being a small town kid in St. Louis to New York City to friend’s couches to LA. It definitely gave me a chance to develop, not necessarily at the pace that I wanted, but I learned a lot at a huge company”, says Burnette

Brandyn was merely a sophomore in college in New York when he signed his recording contract with Warner Brothers. After experiencing everything that comes along with being signed to a major label, Brandyn recently decided to take the independent route. Made of Dreams is Burnette’s first project as an independent artist, though that may be hard to believe after giving it a listen.

Made of Dreams was a huge accomplishment for the fans that I cultivated over the last year with my mixtape series, which I gave out for free”, he says of The Bright Side series which were a pivotal step in his early career.

“Putting out a full project was important to me, because fans were expecting music, & I wasn’t about to let some assholes at a label discourage me from continuing on with my message. This EP has pushed me to do so much more on my own, from producing to the videos to the artwork. I spent a lot of time putting together something I felt I would be proud to have live online forever.”

At the age of 25, Brandyn Burnette has pieced together a nice career so far. From writing chart-topping hits for pop stars to opening a show for John Mayer, the indie wonder we’ve all grown to love has been showing no signs of slowing down.

Though a fair amount of Brandyn’s popularity has some from his acoustic-sounding mixtapes, he plans on sticking with a more electronic sound as he continues to produce and write his own music, saying

“I only have one rule when it comes to my music now that I’m in control of it… It stays honest. Every record I put out from now on inspires me in some way enough to feel it’s urgent for other people to hear. new sound stems from this new world I’m in of self-production which I guess if I had to describe it with a few words I’d say: cinematic, lo-fi, visual, progressive & soulful”.

When speaking on the inspiration directly behind his music, Brandyn said

“I write about my life experiences and I feel that people all go through similar shit just with different circumstances. I try not to overthink because the second an artist does that I feel they lose their audience. We are sensitive beings & music has an incredible power. I’m simply trying to promote honesty, individuality & passion- take it or leave it”.


 
Burnette’s main focus at the moment is the Made of Dreams EP. With six tracks ranging from slow, emotional songs such as the piano-driven Lost to pop radio hits like Nothing At All, Burnette went for the knockout on this release. Appealing to everyone hasn’t always been something Brandyn has kept in mind while making music, saying

“I feel burdened to get my message out there. I don’t plan on force-feeding it to the world, but simply let it live in the universe until it finds it’s way to the surface. That’s not to say I don’t plan on pushing it like crazy. It just means I don’t get discouraged anymore if my music gets slept on”.


 
Despite the initial success of the Made of Dreams EP, Burnette knows there’s still a long road to travel, saying

“Now that I’ve gotten this first EP under my belt I’m already planning to tour & drop another EP at the top the year. For me, the end goal is to get out on the road and meet the people supporting me online. They are the ones that are gonna make this a success story. Until then, I’m just gonna keep creating the music that heals me in hopes that it can one day heal others”.
 

Connect with Brandyn: @BrandynBurnette
 

by: Liam

Liam

After a near-death experience involving three grizzly bears & two Cambodian strippers, Liam made a life-changing decision to venture into the music world. Follow him on Twitter at @doyouknowLIAM for an endless supply of mediocre tweets.

Leave a Reply

